Are teachers happy in their jobs?

Are you an NQT? Chat to other NQT's here.

Moderator: TeachersTalk

Postby shineyboot on Sat Jul 19, 2008 12:25 pm

Hi All,

I have applied for a PCGE primary but have been working for 10 years since I finished my degree in a office based project management role. I work in a demanding job which involves lots of long distance travel, endless meetings, spreadsheets, complicated paperwork and long hours. My time in schools has been like another world, equally tiring but very rewarding compared to the office work I currently do. I immediately saw all the positives that teaching had to offer, the flexible way of working, the rewarding nature of working with the children and the opportunity to do different things, learn new things and be creative.
I have spent enough time in school to see the job 'warts and all' and know it's extremely hard work but still remain positive about teaching in comparison to my current work which I find boring and unrewarding. However I was disappointed to find all the teachers I met in the school were extremely negative about the job, they seemed exhausted and stressed and very few of them spoke positively about the role or were willing to answer my questions about the profession. I have been in a few schools now and this seems to be the norm, teachers don't seem happy. I've had several people warning me not to do the PCGE including one of my friends who did one and dropped out of teaching after 1 year.

I was just wondering if my positive attitude will wear off and I will become exhausted and jaded like all the other teachers I've met recently?
shineyboot
Just Registered
Just Registered

Sponsor

Sponsor

Re: Are teachers happy in their jobs?

Postby foxtrot on Wed Feb 04, 2009 12:35 am