Initial Teacher Training

Initial Teacher Training is provided in many forms across the UK, and all provide a means of gaining QTS (Qualified Teacher Status). QTS (ITT programmes combine theoretical learning with at least 18 weeks teaching practice in schools.

Choosing the right ITT programme is the first step to your career in teaching.

Your first decision in becoming a teacher is deciding what subject and age group you would like to teach, this has a large impact on the ITT courses you can take.
You will need to train to teach at least two Key Stages, if teaching primary you will need a good understanding of all National Curriculum subjects (with a degree in any subject), while teaching secondary you will need a degree (or equivalent) in at least one National Curriculum subject.

Key Stages:

  • Key Stage 0: (Foundation Stage) Nursery and reception years (3-5 years old).
  • Key Stage 1: Years 1 to 2 (5-7 years old)
  • Key Stage 2: Years 3 to 6 (7-11 years old)
  • Key Stage 3: Years 7 to 9 (11-14 years old)
  • Key Stage 4: Years 10 to 11 (14-16 years old)
  • Key Stage 5: Years 12 to 13 (16-18 years old)

SCITT (School Centred Initial Teacher Training)

School Centred Initial Teacher Training, is an ever more popular approach to becoming a teacher, this route is provided by local education groups, to meet teaching needs in that area.
SCITT programmes benefit both local education and teching students, by providing tailored courses provided by professional teachers in a school environment
Many SCITT programmes are associated with universities or colleges and also offer a PGCE.

Not found what you're looking for?